The Gas Industry Award 2017 finalists have been announced

6th Apr 2017


Having deliberated over nearly 100 entries into the prestigious awards, the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and the Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) have announced the shortlisted nominees for this year’s ceremony.

The judging panel, made up of leading figures from across the transmission, distribution and downstream gas sectors, had the difficult task of choosing the shortlist from a stack of extremely competitive entries.

 The winners of the 10 categories will be named at a spectacular award ceremony at London’s Park Lane Hilton on May 9, which will see around 600 gas industry professionals come together to celebrate the achievements of the industry.

Andy Cummings, IGEM President and Chair of Judges, said: “This year’s shortlist is a masterclass of innovation and ingenuity. As always, the entrants have excelled in demonstrating their professionalism and creativity and it was particularly difficult to choose from such a strong collection of entries. We are fortunate to have such a spectrum of talented people working in our industry. Congratulations must go to all our shortlisted entrants and we look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony on 9 May.”

Robert Murray, President of EUA, said: “I have judged the IGEM - EUA Gas Industry Awards for a number of years. The 2017 entries are of the highest quality and accordingly it was extremely difficult to select a winner in each of the categories. I am looking forward to Awards Luncheon to see these most deserved of winners collect their awards.”

The finalists are: Manager of the Year

Terry Carroll, SGN Ltd

Mark Clarke, Gas Networks Ireland

Pamela Goee, SGN Ltd

 Engineer of the Year

Jayne Dawson, Northern Gas Networks

Dr Sarah Kimpton, DNV GL

Andrew Musgrave, SGN Ltd

Safety Award

Cliff Hoy, British Gas

Anthony Murray, Balfour Beatty

Locking Cooker Valve – SGN Ltd

Wales & West Utilities and Western Gas Alliance

Innovation Product Award

National Grid Distribution – ServiBoost

SGN Ltd – Advanced Gas Detection

SGN Ltd in partnership with ULC Robotics - CIRRIS

Innovation Project Award

SGN Ltd – iCore

SGN Ltd – Real Time Networks

Synthotech Ltd, National Grid Gas Transmission, Premtech and PIE – Project GRAID

Company of the Year Award

CNG Services Ltd SGN Ltd

Synthotech Ltd

Wales & West Utilities

Customer Service Award

Baxi Customer Support


Wales & West Utilities

Leadership Award

Maureen McIntosh, SGN Ltd

John Morea, SGN Ltd

Christopher J Murray, Xoserve Ltd

Young Persons' Achievement

Jayne Dawson, Northern Gas Networks

Hannah Brett, SGN Ltd

Robert Lumb, Synthotech Ltd

Energy Efficiency Award

Baxi Heating

Heatrae Sadia

Morrison Utility Services

To book places at the luncheon visit our partners at EUA