Gas Industry Awards postponed until 2021

22nd Apr 2020


The 2020 Gas Industry Awards due to take place on 6th May 2020 have been postponed to the 18th May 2021 due to the current coronavirus crisis.

The Gas Industry Awards brought to you by the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and the Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM), recognises the contribution of the gas industry’s most innovative, dedicated, and outstanding members.

 Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA, said: 

“The decision to move the gas awards to next year means that we can give the award nominees the full coverage that they deserve “ 

“All nominations and bookings received for 2020 will be carried over to the 2021 event.”

“The annual Gas Industry Awards will be 21 next year! 21 years of providing an opportunity to celebrate the progress of the industry and the chance to inspire the future. The gas network is a key national asset, invested in for decades to serve customers, providing a secure, flexible source of energy, and the industry who serves it is brimming with talent. “ 

“Whilst this delay comes with a heavy heart, EUA is confident that the awards will continue to be the largest and most prestigious event in the gas industry calendar.”

Neil Atkinson, Chief Executive of IGEM, said: 

“We know you’ll be as disappointed as we are that the Gas Industry Awards are not going ahead this year. However, we are looking forward to being reunited in 2021, when we can finally give our nominated people, projects, and companies the recognition they deserve. 

“This is a tough time for everyone, especially those working in critical infrastructure. But during this unprecedented period of hardship, while you are all hard at work maintaining one the safest and greenest gas networks in the world, we’ll be readying an extra special awards to celebrate your commitment and dedication.”

 The awards feature 10 categories:

  • Company of the Year
  • Customer Service Award
  • Engineer of the Year
  • Innovation Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Manager of the Year
  • Product of the year
  • Project of the year
  • Safety Award
  • Young Person's Achievement (aged 35 and under)


For more information: