27th Mar 2019


The Gas Industry Award 2019 finalists have been announced. Having deliberated over nearly 120 entries into the prestigious awards, the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and the Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) have announced the shortlisted nominees for this year’s ceremony.

The judging panel made up of leading figures from across the transmission, distribution and downstream gas sectors, and the media had the difficult task of choosing the shortlist from a stack of extremely competitive entries.

The winners of the 10 categories will be named at a spectacular award ceremony at London’s Park Lane Hilton on May 15, which will see around 600 gas industry professionals come together to celebrate the achievements of the industry.

Steve Edwards, IGEM President and Chair of Judges, said:

“Once again, this year’s shortlist is a masterclass of innovation, engineering excellence, and creativity.  Having received the highest number of entries we had a lot of discussion amongst the judges to get to the finalists.
“The entrants have excelled in demonstrating their professionalism and, we are fortunate to have so many talented people working in our industry.
“Congratulations go to all our shortlisted entrants and we look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony on 15 May.”

Elaine Lancaster, President of the EUA, said:

“This is the second time I have judged the IGEM & EUA Gas Industry Awards. The 2019 entries are again of the highest quality and the level of competition was tough, making it extremely difficult to select a winner in each of the categories.

“We are pleased with the range of entries from across the industry which demonstrates many of the great people and projects we have. I am looking forward to the awards luncheon, where we’ll see these most deserved of winners collect their awards.”

 The finalists are:

Company of the Year 

Ferns Surfacing Limited

Fulcrum Pipelines Limited

SGN Limited

Customer Service Award 

SGN Limited

Karen Thompson – National Grid

Wales and West Utilities and Morrison Utility Services

Engineer of the Year 

Vaughan Crawford – Cadent Gas Limited

Sheila Lauchlan – Perfect Dimensions

David Rae – SGN Limited

Jonathan Strain – Firmus Energy

Innovation Award

Baxi Heating Limited for BAXIIFOS - the easy answer to Boiler Plus compliance

Cadent Gas Limited In collaboration with Bri-stor Systems Limited and Perpetual V2G Systems Limited for Sustainable Vehicle Auxiliary Power System

Fulton for the Fulton VSRT Vertical Steam Boiler

Lagoni Engineering for Open Source SCADA

Leadership Award

Dr Jane V Haswell – PIE Consulting Limited

Sean Kelly – Morrison Utility Services

Thomas Olsen – Lagoni Engineering

Manager of the Year

Martin Garbutt - HomeServe

Carly Gilchrist – Fulcrum Pipelines Limited

Iain Morley – Morrison Utility Services

Product of the Year

Cadent Gas Limited and Gas Leakage Solutions for the Top Tee Syphon Adaptor

Fulton for the Fulton VSRT Vertical Steam Boiler

Timberline Tools for the ExPERT permanent PE repair

Project of the Year

H21 from Northern Gas Networks in collaboration with Cadent Gas Limited, SGN Limited, Wales and West Utilities, DNV GL and the Health and Safety Laboratory (HSL)

Record Breaking ‘Live’ Live Mains Insertion, Wickwar, Bristol from Wales and West Utilities, Morrison Utility Services Thompson Utilities and Steve Vick International

Sunshine on the Tyne – Sustainable Environmental Remediation at a Gas Holder Station from Northern Gas Networks, Sweco UK Limited and Geo2 Remediation Limited

Safety Award

Breaking Safety Records from National Grid LNG Grain

Fulcrum Pipelines Limited Reducing damages to the gas network through collaboration from LinesearchbeforeUdig and SGN Limited

Young Persons' Achievement

Thomas Isaac – Progressive Energy

Ben Kuchta - Quantic Corporation Limited

Jordan Rowbottom – Squire Energy

You can book places at the luncheon here