Gas Industry Awards 2021 shortlist announced

29th Mar 2021


The finalists have been announced for the rescheduled Gas Industry Awards, now taking place on 18 May 2021.

Like many events, the Gas Industry Awards had to be postponed in 2020 due to the pandemic. The awards, brought to you by the Institution of Gas Engineers & Managers (IGEM) and the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) recognises the contribution of the gas industry’s most innovative, dedicated and outstanding members.

The decision to move the awards means the nominees will receive the full coverage they deserve, and the winners will now receive their long-awaited accolades during a rescheduled online ceremony. In the lead-up to the awards, IGEM and EUA will be discussing, in detail, the shortlisted nominations and providing greater insight into their projects and innovations via a series of dedicated webinars.

The winners of each of the 10 categories will be named at the award ceremony which, for the first time in its history, will be a virtual event and free to attend. There will also be virtual networking opportunities for attendees.

Ofgem’s Chief Executive Officer Jonathan Brearley will deliver this year's industry speech. He has wide-ranging energy sector experience and led the development of the Climate Change Act as Director of the Office of Climate Change, a cross-government strategy unit focused on climate change and energy issues.

Television presenter Dallas Campbell will present the virtual event. Dallas’ presenting career started with The Gadget Show and Bang Goes the Theory and he recently presented Positive Energy on National Geographic, where he travelled the globe meeting the innovators that are creating new ways to power the world in the future.

In compiling the shortlist, a panel of esteemed judges deliberated over more than 100 entries for the prestigious awards.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Company of the Year

  • SGN
  • SGN Natural Gas
  • ULC Robotics

Customer Service Award

  • The Orange Angels, Cadent’s Eastern network
  • Customer Service Team, West Midlands, Cadent
  •  Emergency Service Team, Wales & West Utilities

Engineer of the Year

  • David Butler, Head of Engineering, SGN Natural Gas
  • David Rae, Project Manager, SGN
  • James Hatt, Head of Operational Change, Morrison Utility Services
  • Will Johnson, Technical Applications Director, ControlPoint

Innovation Award

  • Development of a pure hydrogen boiler, Baxi Heating
  • HyDeploy from the HyDeploy Consortium
  • Virtual Trial Hole Assistant, Morrison Utility Services 

Leadership Award

  • Danny O’Malley, Director, SGN Natural Gas
  • Ernie McDonald, General Manager, Fernox
  • Maxine Long, Head of Metering, National Grid Metering

Manager of the Year

  • Hilary Buxton, Head of Engineering, Cadent
  • Julia Dwyer, Director, Cadent Foundation
  • Omar Fayez Mohamed ElMahdy, Planning General Manager, Egypt Gas
  • Richard Hynes-Cooper, Head of Innovation, Northern Gas Networks

Product of the Year

  • C55 Asset Investment Planning and Management developed by Copperleaf Technologies in collaboration with Northern Gas Networks, National Grid Transmission and SGN
  • Mechanical Purge End Fitting developed by Plasson in collaboration with Cadent and ROSEN
  • Microstop developed by Ravetti in collaboration with SGN and Pipeline Technology
  • ServiceCam developed by Synthotech

Project of the Year

  • Albert Court Gas Mains Replacement delivered by tRIIO
  • Asset Investment Planning project undertaken by National Grid Gas Transmission
  • Gas to the West undertaken by SGN Natural Gas in collaboration with Mutual Energy
  • Green City Vision undertaken by Wales & West Utilities and Progressive Energy in collaboration with Scottish & Southern Electricity Networks (SSEN) and UK Power Networks (UKPN)
  • OSS Project undertaken by Lagoni Engineering in collaboration with National Grid Gas Transmission

Safety Award

  • Balfour Beatty’s Gas Distribution Strategic Partnership - West Midlands Contract Area,
  • Gas Networks Ireland’s Design Safety Initiative
  • Wales & West Utilities’ Demanding Safety Always

Young Person’s Achievement Award

  • Christopher Stamp, Senior Pipeline Inspector, R&L Project Services
  • Gulraj Chatha, Engineering Manager, Assurance & Compliance, Cadent
  • Joseph Stamp, Senior Pipeline Inspector, R&L Project Services
  • Megan Dudley, Customer Service Agent, National Grid Metering
  • Tom Cliffe, Project Lead/GIRS Designer, D&G Utilities

Neil Atkinson, CEO of IGEM, said: “We were bitterly disappointed to have to cancel the 2020 awards as we know how hard our nominees have worked to arrive at the shortlist. However, we are hopeful that after the hardships and stresses of 2020, that we will be able to finally celebrate the incredible contribution these people, projects and companies have made to the gas industry.

“Now more than ever, the UK engineering sector must rely on its ingenuity, its resilience and its innovative spirit. While many face a difficult road ahead, we are proud to be supporting the industrious individuals and organisations that are sure to be at the heart of the UK’s recovery.”

Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA, said: “In 2019, I said that 2020 would be a critical year, and I wasn’t wrong. 2020 provided significant challenges, but also exciting opportunities. Now we must look forward and as an industry support the UK’s green recovery.

“The annual Gas Industry Awards, now in its 21st year, provides the perfect opportunity to showcase the industry and those within it. An industry that continually moves forward and provides inspiration and thought leadership.

“Shortlisting these awards is always a considerable challenge, each and every nomination deserves recognition. This year’s shortlist represents some of the best our industry has to offer; the most devoted people, the most innovative projects, and the most effective teams.”